Skip to main content

Edward De Geest, organ

Edward De Geest, organ (Belgium)
Admission €15.00; concessions €10.00

Edward De Geest was born in 1950 and studied at the Royal Flemish Music Conservatory in Antwerp and Ghent, under professors Stanislas Deriemaeker and Gabriël Verschraegen. He won first prizes in harmony, counterpoint, fugue and other categories and earned the Higher Certificate with great distinction for the organ and organ-improvisation. He was awarded prizes at organ competitions in Belgium and Holland, and appeared in various countries in Europe (Belgium, Norway, Sweden, Danmark, Holland, Germany, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Spain, France, Scotland, Ireland, England), in America and the former Soviet Union. He also made recordings for Belgian, German and Spanish radio and television and CDs with organ music from 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. From 1973 until 1990 he was teacher of organ at the State Music Conservatory in Ghent. In 1990 he was made director and from 2011 honorary director at the Music Academy of Eeklo, near Ghent, and is organist at the Saint-Bavon Cathedral of Ghent. He organises the international organ concerts at Ghent Cathedral and organ concerts at the historical church in Watervliet in Flanders. In 2003 he won the “Medal de Vermeil: Arts-Sciences-Lettres” in Paris for his programmes of French organ music and the Prize of Culture in Eeklo, and in 2010 was Paul Harris Fellow with Rotary International.


Samuel Scheidt (1587-1654)

Variations on the traditional Dutch song Ei, du feiner Reiter

Sebastian Ag. de Heredia (1555-1618)

Tiento de Medio Registro de Bajo (Baixo) de 1° ton

Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

Magnificat primi toni

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Fugue à la gigue in G, BWV 570

César Franck (1822-1890)

Choral no. 3 in A minor

Joseph Jongen (1873-1953)


Hermann Roelstraete (1925-1985)

Tocatella & fughetta on Salve Regina, op. 28

Max Reger (1873-1916)

From Chorale-preludes, op. 67:


Mach's mit mir, Gott, nacher einer Güt

Jehan Alain (1911-1940)